Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Traditional Licensing

One of the first things that springs to mind when people think of martial arts is the belt ranking system. Originating with Judo, and now used almost universally within martial arts organisations from all over the word we have this idea of progressing through colored belts, gradually becoming darker until we reach the Black Belt.

This system is fairly modern, and only came into play during the early 1900's. Before this grades weren't displayed in this way, written licensing systems were in place, as can be found in many other Japanese institutions outside of the martial arts.

These varied depending on the school, and still do to this day. Sometimes certificates were given or scrolls awarded. Different terms were used to describe the various levels, Menkyo, Mokuroko, Shoden, Chuden, etc, and again these varied depending on the school in question. While some were more common than others, to understand the progression you would have to be familiar with the system for that particular Ryu.

Example scrolls & license from the Hontai Yoshin Ryu, Takagi Ryu

Motoha Yoshin Ryu Licensing

Within Motoha Yoshin Ryu we follow one of these traditional licensing systems, as follows;

  • Shidoin Menkyo (License to teach, under supervision)
  • Shoden no Maki (Entry Gate / First Level Transmission Scroll)
  • Chuden no Maki (Middle Gate / Mid Level Transmission Scroll)
  • Okuden no Maki (Upper Gate / High Level Transmission Scroll)
  • Menkyo Kaiden (License of Full Transmission)

These Transmission Scrolls are very important as signify a higher involvement in the Ryu and also the ability to teach without supervision.

They are only awarded where students have shown both the relevant level of skill and understanding, as well as the integrity to develop a sense of trust from Yasumoto Soke and their direct Sensei. Only Soke can award these licenses.

Dan Grades

In addition to this we also have a Dan grade system, mainly to give relevance in the modern world and following the mainline example, however Yasumoto Soke advises that this is secondary to the licensing system, and once makimono have been awarded that is the system one should refer to. 

The Dan grades are referred to as follows;

  • Shodan / 1st Dan
  • Nidan / 2nd Dan
  • Sandan / 3rd Dan
  • Yondan / 4th Dan
  • Godan / 5th Dan
  • Rokudan / 6th Dan
  • Nanadan / 7th Dan

Nanadan (7th Dan) is the highest dan ranking Soke has awarded within the system, we do not have 10th Dan, or 15th Dan as is the case in some other organisations.

Class Times & Location

Monday 20:00 - 21.30


Wavell Community Campus

Lynchford Road

North Camp, Farnborough

GU14 6BH

Friday 18:30 - 20:00


The Gymnastics Centre

Pool Road


GU11 3SN

Please note, we do not accept 'walk in' students.

If you would like to attend practice please make contact first to introduce yourself and discuss your requirements. 

Please contact us for more information

This site uses Google reCAPTCHA technology to fight spam. Your use of reCAPTCHA is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible